We live in an energetic universe. Our experiences, thoughts, feelings, and even our physical health and well-being are all heavily influenced by the unseen energies within and around us.

These energies and thoughts create matter, in the form of tangible ideas, health conditions and even many of the life circumstances from which we learn and grow.

As energy moves through the body, it is in a perpetual state of motion and is regulated, and processed by seven main wheel-like structures, or chakras, which keep this dynamic flow of life-force energy moving and circulating through the energy system in order to avoid an accumulation of toxic energy.

The seven main wheel-like structures, called chakras

They absorb this energy, cleanse it and send it out into the energy bodies in order to feed them with appropriate quality of energy that will be uplifting, health-giving and life-enhancing.

The word chakra is derived from the Sanskrit word, cakra, which simply means ‘wheel’ or ‘disc’.

The chakras resonate at different vibrational frequencies, depending on their function and the area of life-experience to which they are related.

For example, the lower chakras are more connected to our day-to-day existence and vibrate at a much lower and more tangible frequency.

They allow us to fulfil our earthly needs and everything we need in order to manifest fulfilling lives on the material plane, for example, food, shelter, security and financial stability (root chakra), creativity, sexuality/reproduction (sacral chakra) and personal power (solar plexus chakra), whereas, the upper chakras are more connected to our emotions and spiritual development.

Each chakra absorbs from the spectrum, the colour that is most resonant with its own level of vibration and function, and feeds this colour/vibration back into the energy system through a complex circuitry of energy channels, known as nadis, in order to facilitate the optimal health and wellbeing of each individual.

If one or more of the chakras is blocked or out of balance, our mental, emotional and physical health will suffer.

The Root Chakra

For example, the first chakra – the root chakra (sometimes called the base chakra) is situated at the base of the spine and is the chakra which is most connected to our physical lives on Earth.

This chakra vibrates at the same vibrational frequency as the colour red, and, therefore, absorbs this colour in order to give us the courage, strength and grounding to take care of our earthly survival needs and feel balanced and connected to our Earthly lives. Detailed info about root chakra

root base chakra the first

The Sacral Chakra

The second chakra, the sacral chakra, vibrates at the same frequency as the colour orange and relates to our ability to be creative and to enjoy expressing our sexuality and sensuality.

While the root chakra supports us in creating a fulfilling material life, the sacral chakra supports our ability to enjoy the life we create.

This chakra is located below the navel and governs the bladder, ovaries, testes and all reproductive functions. Detailed info about sacral chakra

The Sacral Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The third chakra, the solar plexus chakra, vibrates at the same frequency as the colour yellow and is related to our personal power, intuitive knowing (gut feelings) and our ability to develop healthy levels of self-esteem, wisdom and confidence in our abilities.

It is at this level that we begin to reflect on life and observe it, rather than simply surviving or enjoying it.

We ascend in awareness and evolve into psychic beings who are able to discern the qualities of the energies around us. Detailed info about solar plexus chakra

solar-chakra the third

The Heart Chakra

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra, which vibrates at the same frequency as deep, forest green.

This is the centre that allows us to feel love and compassion for others and to process our emotions in healthy ways.

Through a healthy heart chakra, we become able to express our feelings and sustain healthy, loving connections and intimate relationships with others.

This chakra is located at the centre of the chest and governs the healthy functioning of the physical heart, chest, lungs and thymus gland.

This chakra is thought to be related to the planets Venus and Earth (manifesting love on the physical plane). Detailed info about heart chakra

heart chakra

The Throat Chakra

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra, which vibrates at the same frequency as the colour blue and relates to our ability to find a voice in the world and to express ourselves truthfully and with pure intention.

A healthy throat chakra supports us in expressing our true inner essence in the world and is, therefore, also connected to finding our true purpose in life. Detailed info about throat chakra

throat chakra fifth

The Third Eye Chakra

The sixth chakra is the third eye chakra, which is related to our sixth sense and our ability to use our extra sensory perception and psychic faculties to receive psychic information and guidance.

This chakra vibrates on the same frequency as the colour indigo and is located between and slightly above the physical eyes. Detailed info about third eye chakra

third eye chakra the sixth

The Crown Chakra

The seventh chakra is the crown chakra which is located at the top of the head and vibrates at the same frequencies as the colours violet and white.

Often described as the thousand petal lotus, this chakra is the seat of our ability to connect with the God of our understanding and to transcend the human condition.

This chakra is the one which is the most mysterious and perhaps misunderstood.

It is the chakra through which we go beyond ourselves, into the unknown and the indescribable. Detailed info about crown chakra

crown chakra the seventh

Please see the Chakra Colours and Functions Chart below, for an at-a-glance reference to all the essential chakra information shared here.